UN: 5 new countries take office as non-permanent members of the Security Council

NEW YORK (United Nations) – Belgium, the Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia and South Africa took office Wednesday as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council united.

They will occupy this position for two years, while Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, the Netherlands and Sweden have just left the Security Council.

The Security Council is the only United Nations body with the power to make decisions, impose sanctions and authorize

the use of force.

It has fifteen members, including five permanent members – United Kingdom, China, France, Russia and the United States – and ten non-permanent members, who are elected by the UN General Assembly for a term of two years. years.

شارك هاذا المقال !

lettifi mohamed saber

Journalist-Editor of the ALG24 website since December 2016. In the press since March 2014. Specialized in security and political information. E-mail: lettifimohamedsaber@gmail.com Phone number: 066 29 881 61

No comments

Add yours